Celebrating 10 years of Anna Lindh Foundation Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube channel Join us on Flickr

Get Involved

This leading regional Award aims at rewarding exceptional journalistic productions, contributing to a better understanding of the diversity of cultures in the Euro-Mediterranean region as well as promoting the positive role played by journalists in providing balanced and informed coverage on cultural issues in the region.

The 2017 edition represents a landmark event, marking the 10th edition of the Awards programme since its creation in 2005 by the Foundation and International Federation of Journalists, with a major alumni forum planned to connect leading journalists from across the Middle East, North Africa and Europe. Submitted work should tackle intercultural issues between and within Euro-Mediterranean societies, ranging from diversity, tolerance, freedom of expression, fighting xenophobia, extremism and terrorism.

The 10th edition of the Anna Lindh Mediterranean Journalist Award 2017 will award up to four winners, including individual cash prizes of 2500 Euros. Special attention will be given to works focusing on the theme “Intercultural Cities and Migration”, as announced on the occasion of the Anna Lindh Foundation MED FORUM.

Award categories:

1. Press Category:

All articles published in printed newspapers/magazines/periodicals. Articles must be written in a journalistic style. Academic papers will not be accepted. The article must not exceed 20,000 characters.

2. Online Category:

Written materials published via the Internet, particularly material created by journalists. Blogs, social media platforms and other emerging forms of online communication are acknowledged as part of the online media landscape and online journalism to the extent that the content is produced in a journalistic style.

3. Radio and Television:

TV Entries which can include interviews, reportage, documentaries, panel discussions, news stories or reports published on the radio and/or TV. Entries duration must not exceed 1 hour.

4. Photography Category:

Photographs published online and/or printed media by for professional or non-professional photographers.

In addition, on the occasion of the landmark 10th edition, a Special Alumni Award will be bestowed by the Anna Lindh Foundation Secretariat for outstanding contribution by a Journalist Award alumni in the promotion of intercultural dialogue.

Works could have been published between 1st January 2017 and 27th September 2017.

The competition is open to journalists who are nationals of one of the 42 countries of the Union for the Mediterranean, in addition to Libya and Syria. Priority will be given to young journalists at an early stage of the professional career development.

Candidates can only compete in one category.

To get involved in the Anna Lindh’s Mediterranean Journalist Award 2017, you can submit a journalistic item related to one of the four categories before the 13th October 2017 by clicking here.